Spicy Shrimp with Linguine

I have no idea how in the world this recipe found its way into Cooking Light, but it did, I swear.  I’m not going to lie, I consider this is a little on the indulgent side, especially for a Monday, but it was calling my name.  I had every intention of making this super-healthy shrimp dish from my friend Jen’s fantastic blog, using herbs from my garden, but when I got home tonight, I changed my mind and decided on something spicy and carby. 

I had found this recipe in June’s Cooking Light and had a xerox of it in my office (long story) and had everything at home to make it, including the shrimp.  We only had to substitute whole wheat penne for linguinne, but no love lost.  Carbs are carbs in this house.  We really enjoyed this dish and you can make it healthier by using olive oil instead of butter and probably (not totally sure about this) skim milk with a teapsoon of flour for thickening instead of cream.  But try this once the right way.  Then figure out how to cut it back.  :)

Another bonus:  it was on the table in 20 minutes flat.  Serve with a green salad and maybe French bread to soak up the extra sauce?

Spicy Shrimp with Linguine (or whatever)

  • 8 ounces of uncooked linguine
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 lb peeled and deveined medium shrimp
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning (with like Tony’s)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • handful of chopped flat-leaf parsley

Cook pasta according to package directions, drain and keep warm.  In the bag that the shrimp came in, add the Cajun seasoning, red pepper and salt; shake well to coat the shrimp.

  Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and saute about 3 minutes, until tender.  Add tomatoes and garlic, saute another 2 minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic (might have to adjust the heat). 

Add shrimp to pan; saute for 5 minutes or until almost done.  You don’t want them opaque yet, but just about there.  Remove from heat and stir in cream.  Let sit for a minute or two, until the shrimp are done. Pour shrimp mixture over pasta, mix well.  Top with chopped parsley.

One thought on “Spicy Shrimp with Linguine

  1. Sometimes you just need carbs and wine to deal with a Monday. Your pasta looks great. Although I do agree with you that I’m a little skeptical of some of the recipes that Cooking Light considers “light.” Sometimes I think they’re just “lightened” a bit from the original.

    Miss you!

Leave a Reply

