Apple Pumpkin Muffins

Someone recently brought my mother a loaf of homemade pumpkin bread and after I inhaled most of it, I can’t get pumpkin-flavored foods off the brain.  I’m just so excited fall is here — the mums and  fairy tale pumpkins (my new thing) and crisp air and football, all fabulous.

I saw these muffins on my friend Jen’s blog and while she is a master baker and takes much better photography than I do, these were still delicious.  I need to figure out how to get the nice rounded tops to the muffins like hers (maybe it’s my aversion to the word ‘muffin top?’)  I think it might have to do with the fact that I accidentally used a whole can of pumpkin instead of a half can, but oh well.  They were still fabulous.   And best of all, they were a healthy adapation from a more indulgent recipe, making them a relatively healthy choice for breakfast. 

Apple Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • small pinch of ground cloves
  • 1/2 can of pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce
  • 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped

Preheat oven to 350 and line muffin tin.  In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients (flours down through the ground cloves).  In a medium bowl, whisk the pumpkin, applesauce, oil, sugar, and eggs together, blending well.

Add the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients, whisking well until completely blended.  Fold in apple.

Fill the muffin tins up about 3/4 full and sprinkle with a little more cinnamon and brown sugar if desired.  Bake for 23 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool completely before removing from wrapper.

One thought on “Apple Pumpkin Muffins

  1. MB – so glad these turned out well for you. I’m sorry that they didn’t rise correctly but like you pointed out it was probably due to the extra liquid of the pumpkin. Although I will say that more pumpkin flavor is never a bad thing in my opinion! :)

    Hope you are doing well. I still think about you guys all the time! Miss you.

Leave a Reply

